The mountains! Here I ca/ome!

Wow, lots of things passed since I was online last time!

So, for the beginning, I took the main traffic route of nepalis (in the Region where I was (Dolpo, Jumla) there is nearly no streets, so everything must be carried by humans, sheeps, horses, donkeys, yaks and yetis….) to continue from Jumla Bazaar to Dunai, which took me 5 days. some passes, some descents, everchanging mountain scenery, but no high mountains…. I camped before MAure Lagna next to a house with VERY friendly tibetian, who were alos so nice to take time to teach me some more nepali (yes, now I know the word for getting milk out of a cow in german and nepali – but not even in english, italian or france….), because I didnt want to cross the pass that afternoon, seemingly it startet raining every minute … finally it didn’t, but nevertheless like this I could acclimatize my body to 3500 m – as i was supposed to sleep at 4000m two days after. I loved that place! at 11pm there was a thunderstorm, next day the pass was snow-covered – a little bit, until i got up those 350 m it was melted – and no, i didn’t take longer time than nepali people told me… and usually I do… ;) but it was so fun, because at night, when I got to bed (and even during thunderstorm) i thought: I expected it to be much colder at 3500 here … hm, strange. Turned around in my cosy sleping bag. Next day I woke up at 5am (as usual) and there was not condensed water in my tente, no, but icicles! :D so actually, much colder than it felt…

talking (or trying to) with nepali people on the road, I never walked alone (or: very rarely). At Dunai I met an expedition, supposed to be the first womens expedition to Putha Hiunchuli (http://www.sisters-expedition.com/) they REALLY were nice. I spend the afternoon with them, visited the hospital of Dunai (and believe me, a ambulance car in Austria is nearly better equipped than this remoted-aerea-hospital…)
Next day I started to Phoksundo Lake, really a BEAUTIFUL place – actually, I spend two whole days just roaming around in the region over there… I climbed for the first time above 4000m ! Cool, nevertheless, even if it’s not more difficult than Pic de Bure…
Several times I crossed a group of australien trekkers, who did the same itinerary in the same time as I did … but without 2 days rest… finally we even took the same plane back to Nepalganj, where I took the Night Bus to Pokhara.

I assure you, taking the bus is more dangerous and frightening than trekking all alone in mountains …. but as you cant change, just get in, relax, and dont think too much about… better dying relaxed than stressed – this is valid for chicken, pigs, sheep and cows, why not for me?

And today at 4am I arrived at Pokhara, with the Annapurna and the Machapuchre behind, in sunlight of rising sun – tooooooo beautiful! it’s majestic! two days to go, then I will be in middle of mountains! together with a french guy, whose agent took his travel permit same time as I did – so I just left him a notice, and he called! jippie! :)

Today I still will meet up with another french group staying at the same cotage as I do… No, I’m NEVER alone! :)

So far for today, see you then in 10-12 days (depending on route), back to Internet!

bye!

This entry was posted in NEPAL - On Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment