Rara et Retour

Nope, didn’t get lost, but like in China, when having the best time, I’m in nature and therefore no Internet. Same here…

I left with two dutchs, Tim and Silvia, to visit Rara national park. the first two days were quite trading route so the path more than sufficient visibly, and more than sufficient people to ask the way, and lots of horse and donkey caravans. third day a little less crowdy, arrival at rara. the high mountains behind the lake only in immagination, because of too much clouds. beautiful nevertheless. I’m thinking about what will here, in this so remoted area be in several years, when they finish the road thats already under construction… one lazy day at rara (clouds), than on my way back to rara. we wanted to go via sinja, and as the first part is really remoted, we needed to hurry to get to the next hotel, as my two compagnons didn’t have a tent with them. I enjoyed this day the most, because of landscape, but unfortunately tim twisted his ancle (?) and we decided to interrupt the trek 1,5 days before reaching Jumla again. by lorry-stopping and bus we took several hours and a night-stop-over in Nagma (yes, it’s true, thats the name of the city!). today back to Jumla, I’m refilling my supplies, tomorrow take-off to the great adventure.

My way will me bring from here to Beni within a 3-Week trek. first part is a very densly populated area, 2nd part is seemingly quite touristy, and for the third part I don’t know until now, but I am not too afraid. there are villages on the way, and as the nepali people (despite some negative, impolite examples) are very nice, helpful and curious, so I am not afraid about beeing alone there.

Nevertheless I was happy to make the first hiking experiences here in a completly unknown terrain not alone – now I know what it is like, and I’m somehow glad to leave alone, with my tent and my kerosene cooker… don’t expect to have news before 1 week, check-out my facebook, because IF I have cellphone network, I’ll send messages to Stefan (obvieously the only one receiving my messges, and the only one whose messages I receive) who will post as Press Official on my wall!

Other things on my mind is about life rythm here… as there isn’t always electricity, nepali lives even more in rhythm with nature… and me too… when I go back to Europe, I don’t have to get over a time delay of just 3.75h, but also the 2.5h that I changed my rhythm… waking up between 5.30 and 6, getting up, getting to bed between 20/21h… so, I’m going to sleep when its 17.15 at your place.

so, here I go… see you next time! :)

koerndl

This entry was posted in NEPAL - On Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Rara et Retour

  1. nagna2000 says:

    Hallo Angelika,
    lebst du eh noch? Ich vermute, Internet ist dort wirklich nicht so verbreitet.
    Wir haben in Wien tolles vorsommerliches Wetter, dass alle mit kurzen Hosen
    und Leiberln herumlaufen.

    lg Dagmar

Leave a comment