d-10

quite the same title as the last post very long time ago… but this time, it means: 10 days until departure! Another type of adventure, but I (or: we) chose the same destination as it was 5 years ago for me: Back to the birch-roots! :)

Dear friends: I’m leaving to Finland! This time no bicycle, it’s just our feet to transport us to the cape North. No, not the touristic one: The Real One! As you have maybe read 5 years ago, to reach cape north, I passed a tunnel underneath the sea: So the proposed cape north is on an Island, and not on the european continent. This time, a little bit more to the east, we count to reach the northernmost point of the continent.

The adventure will start at Oulu, the place where we will meet up with my parents (must be genetic: my father is dreaming of going to cape north for several decades now – this summer is the moment!) who will offer us our first breakfast, after an Arrival in Finland at 1 am… Fortunatley there is a small järvi (lake) close to the airport where we can spend our first night. By bus the journey takes us to Salla, and from there on, crossing several national parks, fishing our provisions in the crystal clear rivers, counting the deers (and bears? – ha, just kidding!) crossing our trail in the forrests, having a kanoe-trip on IvaloJoki, sleeping in our beautiful, small, transportable house and just following the rythm of the sun and the compass (and of course the maps!) we will cross the border to Norway for the last few kilometers.

As Finnland is an technically advanced country, I count on finding some WIFI spots in the villages we cross for reprovisioning, for leaving a message every now and then.

This is the advantage about not knowing where and when working the next year: Just enjoy the time of waiting – anyhow, can’t do anything to accelerate decisions not been taken by me! ;)

And for all those who is wondering: koerndl and fishing? and, who is “WE”?
Well, we, this time, is koerndl (as usual) together with her Better Half, as adventourous, as inventive, as nice and caring, and much more experienced in fishing trouts than koerndl! Sounds good? It is! :)

PS: I just re-read the post d-9 I wrote 2 years ago:

yes, KungsLeden was the first Idea for this summer, but due to changes in life, i changes my destination once more. but maybe this winter ;)

and I talked about Ornella in the last post: I crossed her yesterday for the first time :)

This entry was posted in FINNLAND - Prepa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment